h1

Tropical Grass

April 13, 2008

Getting ready for a busy bluegrass season, visiting South Florida…that’s my toe tapping the sunset from the sublime supine of my hammock.  ‘Bout 74°, breezy, the sweet sounds Cherryholmes “Black and White” humming from my iPod, my ice cold cocktail peeking under my sunglasses…wonder what the poor folks are doing.

One thing I learned this week: tell someone down here you play bluegrass music and you get a bemused look much like when you put a steaming bowl of buttery grits in front of a yankee for the first time. Believe it or not though,  they do have a very active bluegrass association down here.  In  May, Ricky Skaggs is playing at a thing they call “Red, White, and Bluegrass” down in Hollywood. I still feel like Jethro Bodine when I get this far south, but damn the weather sure is nice.

Thanks for stopping by. Hope to see ya’ll at the Redlight Cafe on May 22nd. Did I mention we’re playing May 22nd at the Redlight for our CD Release?  Maybe you’ve heard, but tell your friends and come join us May 22nd at the Redlight.   And hey, before you go, whacha doin’ on May 22nd?

 

Leave a Reply

