h1

Bluegrass & Baseball

April 29, 2008

So I’m at my kid’s baseball game tonight, and by chance I’m introduced to Diane Bouska, sister-in-law of a friend of mine, and the wife of the legendary Roland White.  Yes, THE Roland White (if you’re a mando picker, I need say no more) of Kentucky Colonels, the Bluegrass Boys (Bill Monroe’s band), and The Nashville Bluegrass Band fame.  Many will know Diane in her own right as the guitar/banjo player in The Roland White Band.  We talked bluegrass, about our upcoming CD, about what they were doing in Nashville these days, about their music, about different styles, etc.  It was quite a thrill!   I love Roland’s style and have been a big fan for many years ever since I bought an old Kentucky Colonels album, a live recording with Jerry Garcia introducing the band. 

Watched my kid play ball, and talked bluegrass with Diane Bouska.  Yep….I’d say it was a good day!

Leave a comment