h1

Julie K. Shaw revisited

May 17, 2012

Back in January,  we lost our dear friend Julie K. Shaw after an 18-month battle with cancer.  I wrote a song in her honor called “I’m Doing Fine” (Julie’s Song).  One week from tonight, Thursday, May 24th, the DejaBlue Grass Band will take the stage at the Redlight Cafe on Amsterdam Ave.   Thanks to Cody Marshall, Matt Duren on piano, and CMA studios, we finished a new fully produced version with harmony and instrumentation,  in honor of Julie and her family.   It took months longer than I anticipated to pull this project together but I’m pleased with the way the song turned out and I hope you will be too.

On Thursday, we will have  special edition CD’s printed to sell at our gig with the new version of the song, and (if I can work it) a copy of the video that Tim sent me (many of you saw at her funeral).  Every nickel will go to Tim, Kyla, and Lawson.  Our suggested donation will be $5-10 but you can give what you feel moved to give.

As an added bonus, Mark Lehi Jones, Keith Stewart , and I will perform “I’m Doing Fine” (Julie’s Song) live between sets.  We promise you a partying good time.  No frowns allowed.  Julie wouldn’t have it any other way.  It’ll be a night to celebrate how blessed we all are and to focus on the Shaw family.

PLEASE help us spread the word!!  We want to pack the place and raise a ton of money for Julie and her family on Thursday night.  Please tell everyone you know.

5 comments

  1. how can we purchase one if we cannot be there. Julie is my step sister and I would love to have one and donate. So eager to hear it!!


    • I will post it with a donation link and a download after the show. I hope you like it.


      • I would like a copy as well, I have been following her story on FB, my heart goes out to her family and friends. Nikki


  2. Thank you! I was just looking on the Internet and I decided to search my mothers name. This is so touching and I thank you for being so kind. ❤️


    • I’m so thankful for my mom having friends like you!



Leave a Reply

